Batman vs. Detective Stabler: Who Would Win?

I’m pretty sure Stabler could take Batman, but I’m probably alone on that one. Anyway, I am obsessed with Law and Order: SVU and a friend of mine who is really into graphic novels had read this one called Gotham Central by Greg Rucka and Ed Brubaker and thought I would enjoy it (I told her I was reading comics for this class at the beginning of the semester so she’s been trying to get me to join in on her love for them for about 4 months).  I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it, and by how much it connected with this class!

Image

Calling Batman to do the dirty work.

This comic is extremely well written, and I found myself on the edge of my seat many times (not to mention I was yelling at the book when something I didn’t like happened, a sure sign that I’m into something). One thing in particular that really stood out to me was a scene where the police are shining the light to summon Batman. One officer asks if he could flip the switch himself because it was his partner that had been murdered by the villain. The commissioner turns to him and says that he can’t do that because the police department cannot touch the light, or in any way acknowledge that Batman exists. The officer turns and says, “So we are calling him in to take down Mr. Freeze, but we can’t admit he’s real?” I thought this was a really nice parallel with the whole multi-verse thing we discussed when we were reading Animal Man. Although the characters in this story know that Batman exists, they can never admit that he exists. This made me wonder if existence has anything to do with whether or not people think you exist. In other words, if people don’t believe you are real, does that make you any less alive? I think this is a really interesting question that will probably never go answered. This graphic novel also did a really good job of portraying the crime show genre. It had a villain, someone who was framed for the crime, the angry detective, the family member that’s in danger; it covered it all. By portraying all these iconographies and signs, it was clear that this is a crime drama piece.

I also really enjoyed this graphic novel because after the first two volumes there wasn’t any more Batman the action became really suspenseful and realistic. Like I said, I LOVE Law and Order: SVU and this graphic novel was a lot like that show. I would really recommend it to anyone who likes crime dramas.

This entry was posted in Comics and Metafiction, Graphic Novels, Off-topic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

