What About Me?

It’s good to finally have a blog that is not so class oriented, instead we can just talk about what we plan to do. I plan to take some more Comm classes next semester as well as a Sports Management class. These will count toward my major and my minor. The last two classes I have are going to be strictly core curriculum. This way, I will not have to take a summer school class when I am home. This is where everyone shouts YAY! Anyways, I still plan to stay at Trinity until I graduate which is a good feeling because I do not need to worry about transferring or making new friends and so on. I really hope to continue on my Comm major and Sports Management minor as well.

How I would feel after seeing the box...

How I would feel after seeing the box…

I really enjoyed reading the book Understanding Comics by Scott McCloud. It really painted a different picture in my head when I was reading the comics. He talked about when people are saying things are an extension of their body. An example is when someone gets in a wreck, they say “You hit me!”. But when McCloud talks about it, he says that the reason she says, me, is because the car is an extension of her body. I never really thought about that before. It is true in every sense and I had never heard of someone point it out. The other idea that McCloud talked about was how in a comic you never see the person who is about to get killed, actually die. Writers usually use the next panel to let you determine for yourself. They will show darkness and someone will scream. Therefore you can assume that the person was actually killed. There are many different tricks that I learned from Scott McCloud’s book Understanding Comics.

My favorite article was by Denise on semiotics. I did not know anything about semiotics before entering this class. I didn’t know what they were, how to use them, or what the word really even meant. After reading this article, I learned so much about signifiers. Everything can be considered a sign. I learned about the three main genres of signs, iconic, symbol, and index. I thought it was really fascinating that signs give off a stronger meaning than what meets the eye. Such as a rose. A rose is a symbolic sign because it can stand for love. Learning about semiotics really helped me and will help me greatly in the future.

At first I would be really freaked out because I would think that someone is stalking me. I really think that this brings up the point that there is always someone watching you. They hold all of the power because they can choose to see these messages in many different ways. Someone can interpret something one way, and someone could interpret it another way. All there is to say is that after being able to look through the package, I would not know what is real and what is fake. I don’t know if someone is really watching me from a studio, nor will I probably ever find out, but now this idea will sit in the back of my mind and grow like a cancer. Will I ever be able to tell if this is real or not, the only way to find out is to just live life to he fullest.

About eredeker

My name is Eric Redeker and I am a Sophomore at Trinity University. I play on the golf team and I plan on majoring in Comm with a minor in Sports Mngmt.
This entry was posted in Blog #6. End of the semester and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

