Final Thoughts on the Final Post

The Grand Finale

The Grand Finale

My Future Plans

Assuming that the world does not end next month, I am going to be taking a variety of classes, mainly because I simply have no idea what I want to major in. Next semester, I am taking Intro to African American Experience Since Reconstruction, Chinese II, Essential Info Technology, Writing Workshop, Modern Mathematics, and Weight Training. Currently, I know that I would like to use my Chinese in the future; however, I don’t know how I am going to use it. In addition to my education, I am really excited about Trinity football in the future. Although being a freshman, I have already met some great people on the team, who I know I will be in close contact over the next couple years here at Trinity.  Overall, I am looking forward to seeing what the future brings (Only if the world doesn’t end in 2012).

Reading Reflections

In retrospect of all of the readings we have done this semester, I have learned more than I ever could have imagined.  First, in the Anatomy of Film reading, I learned how camera angles are crucial in capturing certain signifiers or people in a movie.  For example, in the Star Wars movie clip that we watched in class, there were countless amounts of shots in a short duration of time, all of which had different angles.  For instance, there were close-up shots, which revealed some of the character’s unique physical features, and long shots, which were great for showing groups of people and background signifiers.  In addition to learning about how camera angles affected film, I also learned in the Anatomy of Film reading how lighting affects film. It was really interesting reading about three-point lighting, and how different lightening can help highlight signifiers and characters in the shot.

The two most interesting ideas from the theoretical readings that we have covered this semester have probably been from Baudrillard and Shaviro. I really was intrigued by Baudrillard’s belief in regards to post modernism: all we have is little shreds of reality in society, and I was really interested in Shaviro’s view of Disney World: a place which makes people’s “real lives” seem in fact real, even though their “real lives” are fake.   Even though I enjoyed most of the readings, I felt like Klosterman’s readings were way to opinionated.

Response to Mystery Package

If there was a mystery package left on my front porch with many different kinds of mystery pictures in it, I would definitely first be kind of weirded out.  After getting over the initial stage of being creeped out, I will most likely think about why I received the package, which would cause me to seriously study the package.  Since I now have experience analyzing our society’s media, I would definitely think of how the pictures relate to each other.  The way in which they relate to each other is that each picture speaks to the reader by itself, showing how words are not really necessary for expressing themes.  Therefore, the viewer holds all the power because it allows them to interpret the photos in any way possible.  With that being said, I feel like the message of these photos is that individuals in western society have the free will to uniquely interpret any given message. This message affects me because it gives me motivation to express my opinions in any way possible.  Since I would want others to realize how important their individual opinion is, I would definitely resend this package to a couple of my close friends

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

