He’s My Man

I know the movie She’s the Man (Fickman 2006) backwards and forwards, so I always knew I wanted to use it for this project. I’ve never had any experience with Premiere or any other video software, so this project was an interesting learning experience for me. For those of you that don’t know the plot, it’s based off of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night. Basically, Viola (Amanda Bynes) dresses up as her twin brother Sebastian in order to play on the boy’s soccer team at his boarding school, ends up rooming with Duke (Channing Tatum), who’s the best soccer player on the team. Duke has no idea Viola/Sebastian is a girl, and Duke eventually ends up getting together with the girl Viola. It’s confusing but I think that’s all you need to know in order to understand my trailer. For this project, I recut the comedy, She’s the Man (Fickman 2006), into a romantic drama between Duke and Sebastian, called He’s My Man.

Specific Links to Other Readings

In order to create my trailer, I drew upon what Thomas Sobchak says in in “Genre Film: A Classical Experience:” that genre film is so “blatantly dramatic” (Sobchak, 1975, p. 196). This is a perfect way to describe romantic dramas, considering you need to focus in on the elements of love that do not exist in the real world, like the slow-motion sideways glance of longing when the two main characters first lay their eyes on one another. He also explains that “any particular film of any definable group is only recognizable as part of that group if it is, in fact, an imitation of that which came before” (Sobchak, 1975, p. 196). So, in order to create the feeling of a romantic drama, I needed to draw upon what I knew about other romantic dramas. I looked at trailers of other romantic trailers like The Vow or The Lucky One for inspiration. Specifically, I looked for the signifiers that distinguished romantic dramas from other genres. In “The language of film,” the authors explain that it is the interaction of signs that produces an interpretation (Edgar-Hunt, Marland, Rawle, 2010, p. 22). The combination of a slow smile and emotional music creates a romantic interpretation of the scene.

Rationale for Creative Choices

In order to turn this movie into a romantic drama, I had to do some strategic cutting. I focused mostly on any emotional scenes and any scenes without dialogue, as most of the dialogue is comedic. I found several clips of the two boys having heart-to-heart conversations and hugging that were perfect for the “falling in love” part of my trailer. The heart-to-heart conversations provided some really good audio I could use throughout my trailer.

To make it seem like they were looking at each other longingly, I slowed down a shot of Duke looking at Sebastian and a shot of Sebastian looking at Duke and put them in my trailer consecutively. The music I chose was “Arms“ by Christina Perri for the beginning of the trailer and the instrumental version of “Embrace” by Celebrate for the conclusion. I chose “Arms” because the melody is super emotional and the lyrics are all about love. Also, the song starts quietly and becomes much bigger, which allowed for the story to progress, “Embrace” is an epic instrumental I used during the parts of the trailer when Duke and Sebastian were fighting and at the end in order to heighten the emotions of the scene. I used only the dip to black transition in order to create consistency throughout my trailer. This transition also helped to create dramatic pauses at emotional scenes.

Frustrations, difficulties, and solutions

Going into this project, I knew I was going to have some trouble understanding Premiere. So, I took the time to complete the Premiere training on Lynda.com, and it was super helpful. While a lot of the information was stuff we went over in class, it was a great review and helped solidify the basics in my mind. Because of this, I actually didn’t encounter too many issues. If you are a student completing this project in the future, I highly suggest watching (and paying attention to) the Lynda.com

She’s the Man, my favorite movie.

training that Dr. Delwiche provides- it will make your life 150% easier. Also, I highly suggest choosing a movie with an actor/actress that you wouldn’t mind looking at for long periods of time (i.e. Channing Tatum). It makes the process actually quite enjoyable. 

References

Robert Edgar-Hunt, John Marland, and Steven Rawle (2010) The language of film. Lausanne: AVA Academia.

Thomas Sobchak (1975, Summer). Genre film: A classical experience. Literature Film Quarterly3(3), 196. 

 

This entry was posted in Blog #5. Video Trailer Project, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

