Ace Ad-Ventura

Ace Ventura (Jim Carrey) contemplating his options

First off, I just want to say how much I enjoyed this project. This was one of the best projects that I have had to do in the year and a half I have been at Trinity. What really made it worth while was how we were able to choose our own movie and change it into whatever genre we wanted. I have never had that before and I was excited. But it was not as easy as I thought it was going to be. I am excited to see how everyone else felt about this project and what their masterpieces are going to look like.

The movie that I chose for this project was Ace Ventura When Nature Calls (Steve Oedekerk) which is one of my favorite movies. This is a very funny movie, and it was my job to turn it into an action film. It was tough because Jim Carrey is such a funny person. Ellen Hunt once wrote, “The image will immediately convey a huge number of impressions…” (Edgar-Hunt 2010, 14). I feel like I can relate this to Jim Carrey because whenever anyone sees him, they immediately think it should be a comedy. It’s because of his facial expressions. He makes the funniest faces and it will always make people giggle. “We know a person by what he…says and does” (Sobchack 1975, 200). This is true when it comes to actors and actresses because we are just so used to seeing them in So turning him into an action based hero who is trying to fight his way through Africa was a challenge.

One of the other major changes in the film is the music. I put in a more up beat and adventure sounding sound to the set of clips and it changed it completely. After learning about semiotics in this class, I was able to figure out that music is in fact a sign. It can make a movie fit in one genre; however, if you change the music, it can fit into another genre. Denise constantly talks about the different types of signs that exist (Denise 2004, 14). I feel that music would be an index sign because it really just points out how you are supposed to feel by the beats and voices of the singers. So changing the music to something that was more action based really changed the entire mood of the trailer.

One of the things that I really tried to do with this trailer was to make it seem like Ace Ventura was brought to Africa for a mission, but is tricked and is now trying to make it out alive. I did this by really emphasizing the scenes of the tribes running toward each other, but made it seem like the whole time they are chasing Ace through the forest. I liked doing this because when the music is playing and all you see is tribes with spears and bows running through a forest it really gets your adrenaline pumping, at least mine does. Also the types of transactions I used worked well because I was able to go to frame with words on it easily by dissolving from the film to that frame and it really looked professional. It was a lot of fun kind of testing everything out and seeing what fit best with the clips.

I really enjoyed this project. It was something that was fun yet very informative. I now know how to make trailers out of a film and how to rip a video (you never know when that may come in handy). It was a little bit of the challenge to get everything done. the one thing I did not like was how time-consuming everything was. If you were a little off when you clicked something, you could drag the clip to another spot which I did a lot and it got very frustrating. Other than that it was easy work, just time-consuming. I recommend trying it sometime and see what kind of masterpiece you can create.

 

Citations

Bernard Dick (2002). “Film, space, and image,” excerpt from Anatomy of Film. Boston: Bedford / St. Martin’s.

Robert Edgar-Hunt, John Marland, and Steven Rawle (2010) The language of film. Lausanne: AVA Academia.

Thomas Sobchak (1975, Summer). Genre film: A classical experience. Literature Film Quarterly, 3(3), 196.

About eredeker

My name is Eric Redeker and I am a Sophomore at Trinity University. I play on the golf team and I plan on majoring in Comm with a minor in Sports Mngmt.
This entry was posted in Blog #5. Video Trailer Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

