Model Assassins

My video trailer re-cut involved taking a hilarious comedy, Zoolander, and changing the genre to an action film. I had a great time working on the project after I figured out some of the basic functions of Adobe Premiere and giving myself time to perfect the trailer so that it is believable that the movie will be coming out soon. I believe that from my trailer, I would sell out theaters across the country on opening day. It reminds me of an episode of Entourage where the crew sells an entire movie to a private investor simply off of an amazing trailer. The movie itself was actually a flop but the trailer was amazing. The only difference between my idea and the idea from entourage is that my movie would sell more tickets than Avatar.


Specific Links to Course Readings

For a couple scenes in my trailer I decided to use a straight cut. I didn’t decide to use this type of cut where “one image instantaneously replaces another” (Dick, 15) beca

use it “is the most common type of cut” (Dick, 15) but rather I felt that the straight cut helps to capture the audience and causes excitement. The message of my trailer is not the classic trailer that “once wa

s a sophisticated tease” (Gilby, 42). My trailer is a summary of what will happen in the movie without truly telling the audience what will completely happen. For example, my trailer ends with the death of Derek Zoolander’s friends so the audience knows that his friends will die but the cliffhanger comes with wanting to know what will to Derek. Will he get revenge? Will he also be murdered? It is unknown.

The goal of this project was to take an existing movie and recreate a trailer for the film that changed the genre and thus completely changing the plot. Comedy to horror or action to romance are two examples. By changing the genre of the movie in a trailer it is a safe assumption that you will also be changing the plot of the film completely and are thus changing “the most important single aspect of the film which gives it a compact sense of shape.” (Sobchack, 199) The audience uses their creative power to infer what the plot of the film is from the trailer and makes the decision on whether or not they want to see the film. If the audience doesn’t like the trailer, they probably won’t go see the movie so your trailer must be catchy enough to get people in the seats of the movie theater.

Rationale for Creative Choices

I decided to do my trailer re-cut by changing one of my favorite comedies Zoolander to an action film about models who are trained Ninjas. I chose this because my favorite genre of films is action so why wouldn’t I want to see one of my favorite comedies turned into that genre? My toughest creative choice was what the background music to the trailer should be. I am an avid country music fan but I couldn’t find many country songs that would go with the genre. So it was back to the drawing board. After watching a few trailers for action movies I arrived at the conclusion that rock and roll was my best bet for the trailer. I don’t know nearly as many rock songs as country but after listening to the section of my iTunes that is reserved for working out the choices of “Hells Bells” by AC/DC and “Gimme Shelter” by The Rolling Stones seemed to be the obvious songs to go with my trailer. They are two well-known rock songs that inspire action.

Frustrations, Difficulties and Solutions

The largest frustration that I had was in getting the audio to be in sync with the video. It is frustrating to have the brilliant ides for the trailer but having to spend an incredible amount of time getting the audio perfectly in sync with the lips moving on the screen. I found that the only real solution to the problem is to spend the time to unlink the sound and video and align it perfectly. It may take some time and be frustrating but it will pay off when you finally watch your trailer and it is just the way you want it. The largest difficulty that I had in doing this project was getting to understand the video editing software. It was a program that I had never used and it was frustrating to have an idea after watching a trailer on YouTube or the television and not know how to recreate an effect or style that was used. The solution for this problem is simple. Don’t wait till the last minute to do your project. Professor Delwiche stressed on more than one occasion to just play around with the software before you start actually working on your project. If you want your trailer to be just the way you want it, you HAVE to spend the time to get to know the software that you are going to be using. When you were trying to learn how to ride a bike you didn’t just push off and immediately get it. There were cuts and bruises along the way but once you figured it out, you’ll never forget how to do it.

References

Bernard Dick (2002). “Film, space, and image,” excerpt from Anatomy of Film. Boston: Bedford / St. Martin’s.

Gilby, R. (2006, March 13). Trailer trash. New Statesmen, 42.

Thomas Sobchak (1975, Summer). Genre film: A classical experience. Literature Film Quarterly3(3), 196.

This entry was posted in Blog #5. Video Trailer Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

