You can call me The Turbanator.

My name is Jasdeep Singh, and I am a junior Political Science major at Trinity University. I was born and raised on the East coast in New Jersey and I have never stopped missing the cold weather! You can always layer up in the cold, but you can’t really layer down in the heat… not acceptably, at least. 

Image

Me, sporting a mint condition walking-stick that I happened to stumble upon. It was a very proud moment.

My family moved to Texas after the terrorist attacks on September 11th. There were a few reasons for our relocation, but some of the larger reasons were that it was a better atmosphere for my fathers business as well as the East coast wasn’t as welcoming to my type. By faith, I am a Sikh. Though the Sikh faith is the 5th largest religion in the world, not very many people know about it. Thus, my family and I were subjected to quite a few hateful experiences. Little did I know, coming to Texas wasn’t necessarily going to solve that problem, but I’m stronger now because of it. I wear my turban proudly upon my head and overly enjoy stroking my beard when I am thinking. I think I enjoy it a little too much. Along with beard stroking, I’ve learned that I have an obsession with walking sticks. There is nothing more pleasing than finding a mint condition walking stick.

One of the reasons why I took this class was simply because I was interested in how much media really makes us think. With the presidential election coming up, media is now more important than ever. The power that resides in simple ads can really cause a sway in the opinions of the masses, and I find that fascinating.

Other than that, I am a rather shy individual at first. I don’t tend to speak very much, but at the same time, I speak more than I should. It may take a while for me to open up, but more often I enjoy listening to the thoughts and stories of others before sharing my own. Hopefully this will allow to share some more of my own stories!

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

