Haaaaaaave you met Rebecca?

Why, hello there! And, yes, that was a How I Met Your Mother reference. My name is Rebecca Schauer and I have successfully survived my first year here at Trinity and am a sophomore. Even though I haven’t been able to declare yet, I have already decided on, and am sticking to, majoring in Business Management and pursuing an interdisciplinary second major in Sport Management. I do like Communication, so it will most likely become my minor (hence why I am enrolled in this course, I don’t want to get behind… just in case).

I am a born and raised Houstonian, well, sort of. I live in what I refer to as the “super suburbs” of Houston: Cypress, Texas. It’s just about as suburban as any area could get. I graduated from Langham Creek High School in 2011. I was one out of 700+ students in my graduating class, a graduating class that was considered SMALL. If you did the math, yeah, my high school had more students than Trinity. I have one older sister, who graduated from college last year, and one very angsty cat.

As you can probably tell from my choice of majors, I enjoy sports, however, I don’t play any. When it comes down to it, I’m not really athletic at all, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t done some sort of physical activity. I was enrolled in dance classes from the time I could walk on my own two feet and joined the competitive circuit when I was older. My team and I won three national titles before I packed up my dance shoes for good and moved out to San Antonio. Here at Trinity I am a member of Alpha Chi Lambda and serve as their alumni chair, and I am interning at Stone Oak Athletics

Image

Most of my sunsets in California were spent here or in places along the coast. Needless to say, the beautiful view made it harder to leave.

 

 

Although I haven’t strayed very far from the wonderful city of Houston, in terms of calling somewhere else home, I love to travel. I love seeing new places, experiencing new things, and meeting new people, and I am not afraid to do it alone. I went west for the first time ever this summer, I lived with a friend in Orange County, California during June. I got to see Los Angeles, San Diego, and everything in between. Most importantly, it was the first time I got to experience any sort of Disney theme park, and let me just say, IT WAS TOTALLY AWESOME!  It was hard getting on the plane leaving the beautiful 75 degree weather and ocean to come back to scorching 100 degree weather and suburbia.

 

I’m not completely sure what I want to do when I graduate (so, needless to say, I have plenty of time to figure that one out). I came in wanting to go into event management, but I want to explore my options. I am going to apply to law school, and depending on where I get it, I might study Sport and Entertainment Law and work for an agency. Aside from law, my dream job would be doing international event management and public relations for Red Bull.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

