Buttered Toast

Leave it to Dr. Delwiche to make me write my first blog post on my birthday, right? I don’t know if that’s amazing timing or the worst timing ever on his part, but I digress.

I’m the one in the middle. I know that doesn’t help my case for being cool.

I am Brian Westfall, a senior marketing and economics major here at lovely Trinity University. The reason I ended up in this class is actually a pretty strange one. I originally intended to take Intro to Advertising because that is where I want my career to be but, lo and behold, A DREADED PREREQUISITE APPEARED IN THE WILD! I still needed to get to 12 hours to be a full-time student (benefits of seniority) and I heard great things from friends of mine about this class, so I figured I’d give it a shot.

I’m not foreign to the idea of writing about myself. I’ve been on the staff of the Trinitonian since I was a lowly freshman, and I have been the section editor for the A&E (formerly Viva!) section of the paper since January of this year. I encourage you all to read my column, Brian’s Trinity. I’ve been told it can incite a few chuckles and also bring your dead dog back to life!

As far as things you may not know about me, I can think of two. One is I am an avid video game nerd (not unlike Dr. Delwiche apparently). I host a podcast with Matt Prendergast and Travis Halff about video games and I also encourage everyone to check that out as well once we start recording again soon (http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Not-So-Silent-Protagonists-Gaming-Podcast). In fact we are going to the Gamestop Expo on Wednesday morning so I’ll be missing class (this counts as telling the professor right?).

The other thing you may not know is that I’m a musician and I used to be in a rock band in high school. Yes, I played drums in My Adversary – an alternative punk band. Although the band disbanded because I wanted to go to college, I still look back on that time as some of the most fun I’ve ever had. I now actually live with my old band mates in a house, so look for that reality show soon.

I’m going to go get day drunk now. Cheers!

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

