A day in the life…

My home

Hello everyone! My name is Maria Coronel but I actually go by Fernanda.  I did not just made up a random name, Fernanda is actually my middle name (which has been kind of lost since I came to study to the United States.)   I am currently a Junior majoring in Business with a double concentration in Finance and Marketing. I originally started my studies at Trinity as an engineer, but it only took me one semester to realized it wasn’t what I was looking for.

Being at Trinity has been quite an adventure for me. I was born and raised in Managua, Nicaragua, so I am really away from home. When I first came here I was very scared not only because I was saying goodbye to all my friends and family, but becuase I had to get used to a different culture. Nicaragua is a beautiful country. We are surrounded by lakes and volcanoes, beautiful beaches and amazing people. We are the center, or the “heart” as people call it, of Central America. Every summer and Christmas break I go back to Nicaragua and I always have a great time.

Since I came to Trinity I had have the opportunity to show many of my friends what I love about Nicaragua. I will like to show all of you a little bit about my country, so if you want you can watch this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y17nH1vEf3I, that gives a little glimpse of a small country with a huge cultural diversity.

Coming back to me, I would say that I am a very easy-going person that likes to laugh a lot. I like to read, I like to spend time with my loved ones, and I really LOVE to dance. I have been taking ballet, jazz, hip-hop and contemporary classes since I was three years old, so dancing is part of who I am. I just moved to an apartment with my roommate from Honduras, and it has been a great experience so far (I feel old living in a house with just another friend.)

I am taking this class because I find it really interesting. My roommate took it last semester and told me it was great, so I am really excited and I look forward to what will come during the semester.

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

