Inching My Way to the Top

The only way I was able to reach the top dryer last year. Pretty creative if I may say so myself.

 

Hi everyone, my name is Sara, Sara with no h! I’m a sophomore even though I can easily pass for a freshman, excuse me, I meant first year. This is due to my height, or lack of it. I’ve been 4’11 for a long time now and one of my goals is reaching 5 feet. But beside that I am also planning on double majoring in Communications and Marketing and minoring in Creative Writing. Of course, my mind is open to change and I can’t promise you that I will stick to this plan. But for now I am a Comm major and that is what brought me to sign up for Comm 2302. I’ve taken a few communications classes and I am excited and interested to see how this course will progress through the semester.

Let’s see, I’m supposed to tell you something few people know.

Well, let us start with where I’m from. My standard answer is Del Rio, Texas. And then people look at me like I made the place up. To clarify Del Rio is a town of about 36,000 people about two and a half hours west of San Antonio. But I am not FROM Del Rio; I’ve just lived there for eight years with my mom, dad, younger sister and pets. You see I was born in Cleveland, Ohio and then moved several places within the United States and Italy. Yes, Italy. My whole family is Italian and to appease your curiosity, I do speak Italian fluently. People assume I moved around so much because my parents are part of the army but they aren’t. They are both doctors and we moved a lot for a lot of reasons. I’ve lived in various places but I’m happy to say that Texas has won the title of “my home”.

So now that we got that sorted out I can move on to the good stuff. I have a very high pitched voice, at times it seems to be an entire octave higher than everyone else’s. Believe it or not this can sometimes get me in trouble because I’m the first one they pick out in a loud group. I’m proud to say I haven’t gotten a noise violation although I’ve been warned several times. I enjoy writing as much as I enjoy talking and I want to publish a novel, possibly many novels. So if you happen to see this “by: Sara Di Blasi” make sure to pick up the book, realize it is super interesting, and buy it when you see it in bookstores.

Other than writing I also love playing the piano, drawing, painting, and sculpting clay. I started playing the piano when I was four years old and I would only play “My Heart Will Go On” from the movie Titanic over and over and over and over again. Luckily, I have learned other songs since then. I have an art box in my dorm room filled with paint, markers, colored pencils and other artsy stuff and I pull it out every once in a while and just make something. It makes me happy. Don’t know why, but it does. If everyone drew the world might just be a happier, if not better, place.

Here are the takeaways: My name does not include an h, I am desperately trying to become a 5 foot tall author, I speak Italian, play the piano, and love anything that has to do with art. And lastly, I’m easy to talk to because, well guys, I’m honestly good at it.

I’m Sara Di Blasi and I approve this message.

About saradiblasi

I always write, in the back of notebooks, or on napkins, anywhere really. Any surface is a viable platform for my writing as long as I have a pen in hand. My blog is just an extension of the sentences I scrambled to write down before they were lost among my other thoughts. I'm hoping to connect with other writers and I'd love to check out other writing blogs!
This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

