Growing Roots

Vaubon: This is one of the solar buildings in the green neighborhood Vaubon where I lived the past 4 months.

Hi! My name is Tori Carey and I am a senior Environmental Policy major (finally an actual major here at Trinity!) from Berkeley, California.  I am also minoring in Creative Writing as well as German. I am part of APO, the service fraternity on campus and SOS (Students Organized for Sustainabilty).  I registered for this particular common curriculum because my friend who has since graduated constantly recommended I take it. 

I spent last semester studying Forestry Management in Freiburg, Germany. Studying abroad was truly lifechanging and one of the most amazing experiences. Freiburg, the sunniest city in Germany, is in the southwest of Germany bordering France and Switzerland and is in the Black Forest (home to Blackforest cake and the Grimm Brothers). There I was able to live in a community that makes the environment a priority. Waste is minimized through extensive and strict recycling and composting programs. Solor panels adorn all the buildings and many of the houses are Passivhausen (houses that produce more energy than they consume). Bikes are the main means of transportation within the city, and I have to admit it was really nice to be able to get around without a car. Living in Freiburg helped me to realize that after school I would like to pursue a life full of travel after Trinity.

“What are your plans after graduation?” is a question that I have been having to answer exponentially more than ever before since I returned from Germany, and usually I have to scramble to find a somewhat acceptable answer. To be honest I am still piecing it all together and exploring my options. Ideally I would like to be able to live somewhere new and different by spending a couple years with a program like Fulbright, WWOOF, or the Peace Corps before I really begin placing any real roots. Eventually though, I hope to become a either a teacher or counselor for younger kids.

About toricarey

I am a senior Environmental Studies major at Trinity University
This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

