Golf Teams and Disney Dreams

My name is Alessa Hutter and I’m a sophomore double major in English and Communications-that’s the plan anyway. I will be 20 in two months, but to my parents’ dismay, I still have the heart of an 8 year old. I play on the golf team at Trinity so most of my time is divided between my 18 hour schedule and golf practice. Needless to say, I don’t get out very often, but I’ve never been much of a social butterfly. I’m really enjoying this class and it’s already given me the opportunity to step out of my comfort zone in two ways: I’ve never blogged before, and I don’t really like talking about myself. I guess there’s a first time for everything!

Image

Disney movies always have a better reality than the one I’m living!

I was raised all of my life in the little town of Mont Belvieu, Texas (it’s about 40 miles east of Houston and 50 miles west of Beaumont for those who aren’t experts on the small towns in Texas). I have a mom and a dad, a younger sister and two dogs, Chopper and Roux, both female Shih-tzus. My high school was the smallest 4A school in the state when I graduated and it hasn’t grown much since then. I’ve always loved to read, so ever since I was little I knew I wanted to go to a liberal arts school and major in English, I just didn’t know how I was going to get to one on grades alone. Luckily, I started playing golf when I was a freshman in high school, became team captain and MVP my junior and senior years, and just like that, Trinity came knocking! College golf is definitely a different golf experience, but it’s amazing to play some of the courses we play and my team is awesome!

Besides school and golf, my other relationship is with Disney. I have always been a Disney lover, and I’m pretty sure I’m never going to grow out of it. This is made blatantly obvious by my massive 260 pin Disney Board on Pinterest. I know its not typical of a 20 year old college student to be so obsessed with Disney Princesses, but what can I say? What I do hope is that my double major and over-zealousness for Disney helps me land my dream job: an Editor or Literary Agent for Hyperion Books, Disney’s publishing company. It publishes my favorite book series, and what could be better than spending the rest of my adult life surrounded by the two things I love the most: books and Disney!

I also love to watch movies, and I can quote every line from Mrs. Doubtfire, my favorite movie if I ignore all Disney films ever released. George Strait and Michael Bublé are my two favorite singers, but I’m open to pretty much everything except rap (my country upbringing I suppose). If I had to pick a favorite book, it would probably be A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith, but this changes daily. I love Jesus Christ and consider my faith a very important part of who I am.

I know I’m not a “normal” college sophomore, but I am who I am and don’t plan on changing any time soon. I just live each day to the fullest and follow the mantra of that wise man Walt Disney: “If you can dream it, you can do it!”

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introductions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

