From Pre-med to Political

Hi everyone, my name is Ellen Wadler and I’m a Sophomore here at Trinity. I’m a native Texan. I’m planning on majoring in biology, I’m on the premed track, and I have no idea what my minor is going to be. Trinity was one of the first college campuses I visited when I was in highschool. I immediately fell in love with the school, and even though I visited a lot of other universities, nothing else could compare.

Like a lot of college students I like to watch TV and I have a lot of favorite shows (probably more than I should.) My favorite shows right now are Modern Family, Dexter, Downton Abbey, and the Newsroom. My favorite band right now is Mumford and Sons. Most of the time I’m an introvert, but when I’m around my friends I can become pretty extraverted. I like keeping up with the news, in fact while I’m at home and have a TV at my disposal I always try to watch the world news. I also like to read the newspaper. One of the reasons I took this class is because I’m interested in how the media impacts our perception of the world.

Over the summer I worked on a campaign for Ann Johnson, who is running for State representative of the district I live in. Not only did I learn about the inner workings of a political campaign, I also learned how important it is to know who represents you in both the Congress and Senate. It felt empowering to help someone run for office who I thought would make good policy decisions. Before I worked on her campaign I did not pay as close attention as I should have to the political landscape of the country, now however, I keep up with who represents me in Washington. I am excited to vote in my first presidential race this fall. Besides working on the Ann Johnson Campaign over the Summer, I also worked at the Houston Museum of Natural Science as a teacher’s assistant. I helped take car of kids between the ages of 6-9 at the summer camps in the museum.

I worked at the Houston Museum of Natural Science over the Summer.

I’m really looking forward to all of the interesting things we are going to learn in this class, and I’m happy to be back at Trinity!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

