“Paul and Simon” (Siron, 2012)

Overview:

I decided to take the drama, mystery, and thriller movie The Sixth Sense (1999, Shyamalan), and transform it into a comedy and touching movie about a 11 years old child name Simon who recently lost his father and a 40 years old man name Paul whose long term girlfriend broke up with him. In the beginning of the trailer, they are both sad and down, but throughout the movie you see them meeting and interacting with each other and they start to become happy. Paul becomes a father figure for Simon. In the original movie, the characters wore clothes for cold weather, so I decided to make this movie come out in December. I also thought it was fitting for this movie to come out during the holidays because it’s around that time that everyone advertises family and relationships.

 

Connection to Readings:

In the article called “Genre Film: A Classical Experience”, the author Sobchak speaks about iconographies. She defines this word by saying that iconographies “further the speed of the comprehension of the plot, genre films employ visual codes” (Sobchak, 199). In my trailer I used I used this idea by showing the church that the boy usually goes when he is sad.  I also used the school twice (once in the beginning showing Simon bored and disengaged, and the second time when he cheerfully performed in a play because Paul was there supporting him). In Dick’s article “Film, Space, and Image”, the author says that Close Ups “means emphasis”. I used many close ups in my trailer to emphasize the sadness in the beginning and the happiness that developed throughout the middle and end for both Paul and Simon. Finally, author Gilbey says that the “audiences like to know exactly what is in store for them: gone are the days when a film could be sold as ‘the most’ usual motion picture of the year” (Gilbey, 42). I believe that the song choices and sub clips that I used in my trailer convey the message that it will be a touching, inspirational movie. I think that if a person were to watch this trailer, they would likely understand that it is about a friendship and the bond between a young boy and the father-figure he needed in his life. It is probably a movie that parents would take their children to see.

Creative Choices:

I decided to begin my trailer with a sad piano song that I downloaded from YouTube, which I edited to fade into the song “Imagine Dragons” by “It’s Time”. I was inspired by the music in the trailer for The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Chbosky, 2012) that we watched for our last blog. This movie is about relationships so I thought that similar music would suit my re-cut trailer since it is also about a relationship. I turned up the volume on that song when the two main characters first meet and when the Simon is in the shopping cart. I thought these were meaningful and happy moments for both Paul and Simon. I thought the shopping cart scene was particularly fitting because when we see the boy being pushed in the shopping cart by his mom, he is happy. He puts his arms out wide at the same moment the song says “bigger”. It could be seen as cheesy, but I thought it was appropriate. Furthermore, in the original scene where the mom hugs the boys, they are crying to each other. Instead, the change in music suggests that they could either be holding each other while laughing or they could be crying out of joy. I thought it was an interesting scene because the viewer is able to interpret it in several different ways. For the ending, I used an audio clip from a YouTube video of a random male voice saying “I’ll always have your back”. I wanted to make it seem that it was Paul who said this.

Problems and Solutions:

I started on my project early because I was afraid I was going to mess up and have to start over again. Even though, I found Video Premiere easy to understand, I did encounter a few problems while working on my project. I struggled to figure out how to increase or decrease the volume for specific parts of a song. I also had trouble moving my project to another computer because someone was sitting at my original one. I followed the instructions given, but I could not get it to work on another computer. I tried four different computers, and I just became frustrated and had to take a break. Luckily when I returned to the Communication lab, the person sitting at my original computer had left.

When I did encounter a problem, I asked James Bynum for help. He helped me insert sub clips in between two clips. I used to think that the only way to do that was to drag everything over on the right, but now I am glad that he taught that all I had to do was drag that clip where I wanted it to be and press “CTRL”. It was helpful to have my professor available in the Communication lab to help me out when I could not figure out why my audio effects would not drag onto my music.  Additionally, I saved all the emails we received throughout the week so I could refer to them when I needed. Some were very helpful, such as the one that taught us how to export our final project in the comm. server.

Conclusion:

Overall, I thought this project was a lot of fun. I am happy I started early because I think dealing with all the Video Premiere issues at the last minute would have made me crazy. I was also surprised when people around me began to ask for my help with the program and I could actually answer their questions. Moreover, I am glad that I am more familiar with Video Premiere because I will have to use it in other classes for my final project.

Work cited:

Bernard Dick (2002). “Film, space, and image,” excerpt from Anatomy of Film. Boston: Bedford/ St. Martin’s.

Gilbey, R. (2006, March 13). Trailer trash. New Statesmen, 42.

Thomas Sobchak (1975, Summer). Genre film: A classical experience. Literature Film Quarterly,\3(3),.196.

This entry was posted in Blog #5. Video Trailer Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

